SEARCH

Bass - Bridles - Blues
Alpharetta
SeaPalms Resort
Travel Guide and Brochures
Mosaic Clubs and Resorts
south of Thomasville off US Hwy 319 and GA Hwy 35
Thomasville
Georgia
31799
 
Tel: (229)226-2344


Description

Welcome to Pebble Hill Plantation
A Place of Quiet Beauty


• Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
• Has been seen on A&E's "America's Castles"



A visit to Pebble Hill in Thomasville, Georgia is sure to result in an awe-inspiring and memorable experience for all who enter the plantation’s gates. Pebble Hill Plantation has been called a Georgia Belle. This stately architectural beauty stands proudly amid the magnolias and long leaf pines of southwest Georgia, and like an alluring belle, it has magnetic appeal and breathtaking beauty.

With its relaxed order and sense of timelessness, Pebble Hill puts everyone immediately at ease and invites closer inspection of the plantation and its former occupants. Gracious and vital with the South’s rich traditions, Pebble Hill is a home rich in both art and history. The overall impression one receives from this remarkable plantation is more felt than defined.

We welcome you to take a stroll through our web site. We invite you to tour Thomasville’s premier attraction in person.


The Main House
Thomas Jefferson Johnson, author of the bill creating Thomas County and founder of Thomasville, built the first house on Pebble Hill about 1827. Julia Ann, his daughter, married a local planter named John W. H. Mitchell and inherited the plantation after her parents died. The Mitchells expanded the cotton planting operations, and in 1950, replaced the original structure with a house designed by gifted young English architect, John Wind. Following the Civil War, Mitchell died and the strong-willed Julia Ann maintained the plantation. After her death, Pebble Hill was sold in 1896 to Howard Melville Hanna, an industrialist of Cleveland, Ohio, who was attracted by the winter climate and quail shooting. In 1901, Hanna gave the property to his daughter, Kate. She married Robert Livingston Ireland and turned Pebble Hill into a showplace. She worked with architect, Abram Garfield, son of President James A. Garfield, to create the showplace that is Pebble Hill today. An accidental fire in the winter of 1934 consumed all but the 1914 east wing addition to the Main House. Most of the furnishings were saved, and Garfield immediately designed plans for a new Pebble Hill, to include the surviving wing. Kate saw the new Main House completed in January of 1936 and she died some 5 months later. Following Kate’s death, the Pebble Hill property was inherited by her daughter, Elisabeth (Pansy) Ireland. Like her mother, Pansy was generous and hospitable. She preserved the plantation, and it became famous as a haven for guests and friends. House guests included many distinguished artists such as Ogden Pleissner and Richard Bishop; Gina Bachauer, international concert pianist; presidents Dwight Eisenhower and Jimmy Carter; ambassadors, and the Duke and Duchess of Windsor; 1930s writer, actress and dramatist, Cornelia Otis Skinner. The treasures of the Main House are the result of two generations of collecting. Kate and Pansy amassed collections of 19th century furniture, porcelain, silver, crystal, and glassware. Highlights in the collection include a plethora of sporting art and 33 Audubon lithographs. The overall impression one receives from this remarkable plantation is more felt than defined. Integrity, warmth, tradition, and beauty are here in equal measure to be savored by all. The Main House tour narrative is available in English, German, French, Japanese, and Spanish.